It’s the best of times, and the worst…

It’s that time of year again – the time between semesters, when there’s no structured time in the day.

It’s a good thing, because I can work whenever I feel motivated to do so – and without fear of interruption.  And it’s a bad thing, because… well… I need that motivation.

Maybe it’s the winter blahs, maybe it’s the lack of structure, or who knows?   My brain finds scattered tasks to do, but not the important ones.  It’s also the time when I feel like there’s  no point in doing the work I do – it won’t matter, it’s not publishable, no one will bother to cite it anyway, someone else will do a better job, etc.

How to get out of a funk like this?

I’ve tried a few procrastination techniques (organizing my office – a task that I need to do but gets boring after while; writing class syllabi – a task I hate more than just about anything besides grading exams), writing blog posts (see!  I can do this!), updating web pages, etc. etc.   But the creative brain still refuses to engage.

Will give it another kick in the butt, another cup of coffee perhaps, and we’ll see what runs from there….

Leave a Reply

